Misdemeanors in Florida
In the State of Florida, a misdemeanor is a crime punishable by up to one year in jail. Misdemeanors include crimes like Driving Under the Influence (DUI), Domestic Battery, Violation of Injunction, Petit Theft, Trespass, Disorderly Intoxication, and the list goes on. While many misdemeanors in Florida have a mandated punishment, what they have in common is the maximum penalty.
Florida has taken a serious approach to repeat offenders of some of the more common misdemeanors. For example, one prior conviction of petit theft can be used to enhance a subsequent petit theft from a second degree misdemeanor (punishable by up to 60 days in jail) to a first degree misdemeanor (punishable by up to 1 year in jail). And, two prior petit theft convictions can be used to enhance a 3rd misdemeanor petit theft to a 3rd degree felony.
The crime of DUI is treated very similarly. A DUI conviction may be used to enhance the penalty of a subsequent conviction. And, two prior convictions may be used to enhance a 3rd DUI to a 3rd degree felony.
The consequences of misdemeanors can be severe. Call 904-353-0436 now to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney.